Skip to main content

Faculty Mentoring Award Nominations Open Through Nov. 4

four winners
Four faculty were recognized in 2016 for graduate student mentoring. Pictured, from left, are Alan Tonelli, Lee-Ann Jaykus, James Bartlett and Gail Jones. (Natalie Hampton photo)

The Graduate School is accepting nominations from graduate students and graduate alumni for the Outstanding Graduate Faculty Mentor Award through Nov. 4. This is the second year the award has been offered to recognize faculty members for excellence in mentoring.

To nominate a faculty member, submit this completed form and return it to Dr. David Shafer, david_shafer This year, two $500 awards will be offered to top graduate faculty mentors. Award recipients will be selected by a committee of graduate faculty with demonstrated mentoring success.

Each year, two awards will be given. In even years (including 2016), the two awards will be given in the categories: Category I, mathematics, physical sciences and engineering; and Category II, humanities and design; and in the odd years, the two awards will be given to faculty in the categories: Category I, social sciences, business and education; and Category II, biological and life sciences.

Last year’s winners were recognized at the Graduate School’s spring Celebration of Student Success. The winners were: Dr. Alan Tonelli, textiles; Dr. Lee-Ann Jaykus, food, bioprocessing and nutrition sciences; Dr. James Bartlett and Dr. Gail Jones, both from the College of Education.

To nominate an outstanding graduate faculty member, fill out the nomination form and return it by Nov. 4.

Leave a Response

Your email address will not be published. All fields are required.

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.