Skip to main content

2016 Postdoc Research Symposium

2016 Postdoctoral Research Symposium

The 2016 Postdoctoral Research Symposium was held on Tuesday, May 17th at NC State’s Talley Ballroom. With more than 120 attendees and 58 postdoctoral scholars presenting, the event was a fantastic opportunity to highlight the contributions of that postdoctoral scholars make to NC State’s research and scholarship.

Poster Winners and Honorable Mention

2016 Postdoc Research Symposium Winners
2016 Postdoc Research Symposium Winners

Postdoctoral scholars who presented at the symposium were evaluated on a range of criteria, including research methodology, the ability to communicate their research to a wide range of audiences, and visual appeal and organization.

Three postdoctoral scholars were recognized for the quality of their outstanding poster presentations.

First place: Dr. Lilian Matallana
First place: Dr. Lilian Matallana

First Place

Dr. Lilian Matallana, College of Natural Resources, “Decoding Needle Abscission: The Genome Behind Your Christmas Tree”

Second place: Dr. Luke Neal
Second place: Dr. Luke Neal

Second Place

Dr. Luke Neal, College of Engineering, “Greener Ethlene Production via Chemical Looping”

Third place: Dr. Sarah Ehling
Third place: Dr. Sarah Ehling

Third Place

Dr. Sarah Ehling, College of Veterinary Medicine, “To Scratch an Itch: Establishing a Mouse Model to Determine Active Brain Areas Involved in Acute Itch”

Honorable Mention

In addition to our top three posters, postdocs were recognized as honorable mentions for scoring highest among the posters presented form their college.

  • Dr. Martha Alonzo-Johnsen, College of Veterinary Medicine, “Identification of Novel Genes Affecting Left-Right Morphogenesis in the Embryonic Heart”
  • Dr. Kevan Minick, College of Natural Resources, “Sea Level Rise and Land-use Change Threatens Coastal Freshwater Forested Westland in Coastal North Carolina”
  • Dr. Muntazar Monsur, College of Design, “Outdoor Classroom Intervention to Promote STEM Learning Activities in Childcare Centers”
  • Dr. Jonathan Mueller, College of Engineering, “Prompt Neutron Coincidence Anisotropy in Highly Multiplying Assemblies of SNM”
  • Dr. Karl Pazdernick, College of Sciences, “A Bayesian Approach to Modelling Atomic Structural Disorder”
  • Dr. Srinivasan C. Rasipuram, College of Textiles, “Plasma Textiles: A New Class of Active, Tunable Filters for Enhanced Nanoparticle Filtration”
  • Dr. Daniela Magdalena Sorger, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, “Island-like Divergence on Florida’s Sand Ridges – The Case of a Trap-Jaw Ant”

Keynote Speaker and Presenter Bios

Our Keynote Speaker was Dr. Richard E. Kouri, who delivered the speech titled, “Healthcare Delivery in the US — Status Report”.  Dr. Richard E. Kouri is the Chief Evangelist, Center for Innovation Management Studies, and Adjunct Professor, Poole College of Management, College of Agriculture and Life Sciences, and the Department of Biomedical Engineering, North Carolina State University (NCSU).  He also teaches in the Executive Programs at the Poole College of Management, is a Principal at CIMSLogic, Inc, and is Senior Fellow at the Biomanufacturing Training and Education Center, NCSU.

Additional Speakers

  • Dr. Jon Horowitz, Assistant Vice Chancellor for Research Infrastructure; Office of Research, Innovation and Economic Development, NC State
  • Dr.  Christopher J. Oldham, Postdoctoral Scholar at NC State and President at VaporPulse