Skip to main content

2016 3MT Winners

2016 Three Minute Thesis Winners and Finalists

The Graduate School hosted the second annual 3 Minute Thesis competition in October 2016 at the Duke Energy Center of Hunt Library. The first and second place winners were from engineering, and the People’s Choice winner was from entomology and plant pathology.

The competition challenges Ph.D. students to share their research projects in just three minutes. The top two winners were selected from among 10 finalists by a panel of judges, and the audience members voted for the People’s Choice winner.

Gilbert Castillo, first place

Res Orgut, second place

Sophia Webster, people’s choice

All 10 finalists and their presentation topics were:

Shams Al-Amin, Sustainable Water Management for Shared Resources. Civil, Construction & Environmental Engineering, Emily Z. Berglund.

Ali Almalki, Evaluation, Assessment and Enhancement of the Highway Maintenance Planning Process with a Focus on Funding Allocation Optimization. Civil, Construction & Environmental Engineering, William Rasdorf.

Gilbert Castillo, Functional Coatings for Polymers. Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering, Jan Genzer.

Michael Fisher, Microbes of the Common Bed Bug: It’s the Little Things that Matter. Entomology and Plant Pathology, Wes Watson and Coby Schal.

Tanvir Khan, Renewable Energy Resource Sharing in a Neighborhood. Electrical and Computer Engineering, Iqbal Husain and Aranya Chakrabortty.

Res Orgut, Metrics that Matter. Civil, Construction & Environmental Engineering, Edward J. Jaselskis.

Sayed Mashaheet, Ozone Sensitivity: ‘The Plant’s Asthma.’ Entomology and Plant Pathology, David Marshall.

Ben Randall, Knockout Fainting: Mathematical Modeling of Autonomic Nervous System Function to Detect Patients with Orthostatic Intolerance. Mathematics, Mette Olufsen.

Sophia Webster, Gene Drive in the Zika Mosquito Aedes Aegypti. Entomology and Plant Pathology, Maxwell J. Scott.

Atefeh Zamani, Liquefication Mitigation with MICP. Civil, Construction & Environmental Engineering, Brina Montoya.