Skip to main content


AGEP-NC Senior Personnel

The Senior Personnel collectively  direct the AGEP-NC project, bringing expertise in facilitating diversity initiatives and successful mentoring experience.

North Carolina A&T State UniversityNorth Carolina State UniversityUNC Charlotte
PI: Keith Schimmel,  Associate Professor and Director, Energy and Environmental Systems

Abdellah Ahmidouch,  Dean, College of Science and Technology

Ajit Kelkar, Professor and Chair, Nanoengineering

John Kizito, Professor, Mechanical Engineering
PI: Marcia Gumpertz, Professor of Statistics

Winser Alexander, Professor Emeritus of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Maureen Grasso, Professor of Textile, Apparel, Technology and Management

David Shafer, Assistant Dean for Outreach and Diversity, Graduate School
PI: Yvette Huet, Director, ADVANCE Faculty Affairs and Diversity Office and Professor of Kinesiology

Project Researcher: Lisa Merriweather, Associate Professor of Educational Leadership

Student Leadership Council

The Student Leadership Council provides input to the Senior Leadership on the needs of students in their disciplines and campuses. The SLC constists of two doctoral students from each institution; each member serves a one-year term.

NC A&T State UniversityNC StateUNC Charlotte
Reginald Goodwin, Nanoengineering
Laquandra Hampton, Applied Science and Technology

Past Members:
Janelle Robinson, Applied Science and Technology
Tenesha Robinson, Applied Science and Technology
Dakota Batch, Textile and Apparel, Technology and Management
Kyle Duke, Statistics

Past Members:
Whitney McCoy, Educational Psychology
Morika Williams, DVM. Comparative Biomedical Sciences
Ebony Gallard, Kinesiology
Ephraim Moges, Electrical Engineering

Past Member:
Ana Orejuela, Health Psychology

External Advisory Board

The External Advisory Board brings depth and breadth of  expertise in diversity management, promoting URM doctoral success, organizational change, educational research and assessment, and use of data in support of decision-making.

  • Ayesha Boyce, Assistant Professor, Educational Research Methodology, UNC Greensboro
  • Kathleen deMarrais, Professor and Head, Lifelong Education, Administration and Policy, University of Georgia
  • Frank Dobbin, Chair, Organizational Behavior PhD Program, and Proessor of Sociology, Harvard University
  • Dominique Foster, Research Associate, National Initiative for Leadership and Institutional Effectiveness
  • Leslie Goodyear, Principal Research Scientist, EDC (Education Development Center)
  • Douglass Henderson, Professor and Chair, Engineering Physics, University of Wisconsin
  • Adrianna Kezar, Professor for Higher Education, University of Southern California, and co-director of the Pullias Center for Higher Education
  • Keivan Stassun, Stevenson Professor of Physics and Astronomy, Vanderbilt University
  • Zakiya Wilson-Kennedy, Assistant Dean for Diversity and Inclusion, College of Science and Associate Professor of Research, Chemistry Education, Louisiana State University
  • Christa Wright, Assistant Professor of Environmental Health, Georgia State University

This material is supported by the National Science Foundation under Grant Nos. 1820536 182058 and 1820582. Any opinions, findings, and conclusions or recommendations expressed in this material are those of the author(s) and do not necessarily reflect the views of the National Science Foundation.